No Comments

Uttar Pradesh Concludes Selection of 72km RRTS Route Linking Ghaziabad to Noida Airport

NEW DELHI (Metro Rail & Steel): In a significant development, the Uttar Pradesh government has given the green signal for a 72km-long Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) corridor, linking Ghaziabad’s 17km priority section to the upcoming Noida International Airport in Jewar. Officials confirmed this decision on Tuesday, stating that the project will receive funding from multiple sources.

According to officials familiar with the matter, Uttar Pradesh Chief Secretary DS Mishra presided over a meeting on Monday, endorsing the ₹1,600 crore project. This corridor is envisioned to connect the Noida airport with key National Capital Region (NCR) towns like Greater Noida, Ghaziabad, Meerut, and Delhi. Representatives from various departments including Uttar Pradesh Civil Aviation, Greater Noida Authority, Noida Authority, and Yamuna Expressway Industrial Development Authority participated in the meeting. 

Following the corridor’s approval, the Uttar Pradesh government has instructed the National Capital Region Transport Corporation (NCRTC) to prepare a comprehensive Detailed Project Report (DPR) within the next two months. The project will progress further upon the finalization and approval of this DPR. Earlier considerations for RRTS routes via Sarai Kale Khan and Greater Noida have been rejected in favor of the approved route from Ghaziabad to Jewar via Greater Noida West. An unnamed official who attended the meeting disclosed this decision, emphasizing that the project aims for operational readiness by 2030 if the planned timelines are met. 

Financially, the project will witness contributions from various entities. The Uttar Pradesh government will fund 50% of the project, while 20% will be sourced from the Central government. The remaining 30% will be shared by Yeida (Yamuna Expressway Industrial Development Authority) and the Greater Noida Authority, as confirmed by officials. The 17km priority section of the RRTS corridor, which commenced operations in October after its inauguration by the Prime Minister, comprises five stations: Sahibabad, Ghaziabad, Guldhar, Duhai, and Duhai Depot. This section forms a part of the larger 82km corridor slated to connect Delhi, Ghaziabad, and Meerut by 2025. 

The newly approved 72km route is set to branch out from Ghaziabad station, traversing through Greater Noida West, Surajpur, Ecotech Pari Chowk, before culminating at Jewar’s Noida airport. Additionally, Uttar Pradesh authorities have directed NCRTC to commence feeder bus services with 31 electric buses from Jewar airport to Noida, Greater Noida, and Ghaziabad by the airport’s operational commencement by the end of 2024. 

You might also like
Tags: , , ,

More Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed